

Available online at www.sciencedirect.com



Procedia Engineering

Procedia Engineering 116 (2015) 1-3

www.elsevier.com/locate/procedia

## 8<sup>th</sup> International Conference on Asian and Pacific Coasts (APAC 2015)

## Preface

Prof. V. Sundar, Prof. S. A. Sannasiraj, Prof. K. Murali and Dr. V. Sriram

Indian Institute of Technology, Madras , Chennai , India.

8<sup>th</sup> International Conference on Asian and Pacific Coasts (APAC 2015) took place at Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, Chennai, between 7<sup>th</sup> and 10<sup>th</sup> September 2015. It was the 8<sup>th</sup> edition of this conference, which is traditionally organized by Department of Ocean Engineering, IIT madras and APAC council. APAC is jointly supported by the Chinese Ocean Engineering Society (COES), the Coastal Engineering Committee of the Japan Society of Civil Engineers (JSCE), and the Korean Society of Coastal and Ocean Engineers (KSCOE). A wide range of organizations from Asian and Pacific countries are its active participants or sponsors. APAC 2015 will extend the series of biennial conference the first one being held in Dalian, China in 2001 by the name of Asian and Pacific Coastal Engineering (APACE). To reflect a broader scope and relevance to the region, the conference was renamed to Asian and Pacific Coastal, Ocean and Port Engineering and as such, have always been highly valued by all participants.

This issue of Procedia Engineering contains 137 Papers presented in Chennai at the 8<sup>th</sup> International Conference on Asian and Pacific Coasts. All the papers reviewed in these proceedings have been reviewed by experts in the procedure of blind peer review, and subsequently revised by the authors in order to include the reviewers' remarks and suggestions and thus improve the quality of the contribution.

We would like to thank the members of the APAC Council, ISC and the reviewers, who greatly contributed to the improvement of the quality of papers, providing constructive critical comments, corrections and suggestions to the authors. Finally, we wish to thank all the authors who submitted papers, making this conference possible. It is the quality of their contributions and presentations that really has made this conference as success.

© 2015 Published by Elsevier Ltd. This is an open access article under the CC BY-NC-ND license

(http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/4.0/).

Peer- Review under responsibility of organizing committee, IIT Madras, and International Steering Committee of APAC 2015

APAC Council		
Name	University	
Mizuguchi Masaru	Chuo University, Japan.	
Choi , Byung Ho	Sungkyunkwan University, Korea.	
Kioka Wataru	Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan.	
Pyun , Chong Kun	Myongji University, Korea.	
QIU, Dahong	Dalian University of Technology, China.	
XIE, Shileng	First Design Institute of Navigation Engineering, China.	
ZUO, Qihua	Nanjing Hydraulic Research Institute, China.	
International Steering Committee		
Name	University	
CHENG, Liang	The Univ.of Western Australia, Australia.	
DONG, Guohai	Dalian University of Technology, China.	
DOU, Xiping	Nanjing Hydraulic Research Institute, China.	
HUANG, Zhenhua	University of Hawaii at Manoa, USA.	
LEE, Joseph Hun-Wei	The Univ. of Hong Kong, Hong Kong.	
LIN, Ming-Chung	National Taiwan Univ. Taiwan, China.	
LIU, Philip L.F	Cornell University, USA.	
NADAOKA, Kazuo	Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan.	
OU, Shan-Hwei	Nat. Cheng Kung Univ. Taiwan, China.	
SATO, Shinji	University of Tokyo, Japan.	
SHIBAYAMA, Tomoya	Waseda University, Japan.	
SUH, Kyung-Duck	Seoul National University, Korea.	
SUNDAR, Vallam	IIT Madras, India.	
SURIAMIHARDJA, Dadang	Hasanuddin University, Indonesia.	
YAMASHITA, Takao	Hiroshima University, Japan.	
YU, Xiping	Tsinghua University, China.	
YUM, Ki Dai	Korea Inst. of Ocean Science & Technology, Korea.	

National Steering Committee		
Name	University	
Prof. Bhaskar Ramamurthi	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Prof. V. Ananthasubramanian	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Dr. M. A. Atmanand	National Institute of Ocean Technology, Chennai.	
Mr. S. Govindan	CWPRS, Pune.	
Dr. S. M. A. Naqvi	NIO, GOA.	
Dr. Ramesh	NCSCM, Tamil Nadu.	
Dr. S. S. C. Shenoi	INCOIS, Andhra Pradesh.	
Prof. V. Sundar	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Prof. S. A. Sannasiraj	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Prof. K. Murali	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Local Organizing Committee		
Name	University	
Prof. V. Sundar	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Prof. S. A. Sannasiraj	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Prof. K. Murali	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Dr. V. Sriram	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Prof. V. Ananthasubramanian	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Prof. R. Sundaravadivelu	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Dr. P. Krishnankutty	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Dr. Abdus Samad	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Dr. R. Paneer Selvam	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Dr. Jitendra Sangwai	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Dr. P. Shanmugam	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Dr. Nilanjan Saha	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Dr. Deepak Kumar	Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai.	
Dr. B. V. Mudgal	Anna University, Chennai.	
Dr. R. S. Kankara	ICMAM, Govt. of India.	
Dr. M. V. Ramana Murthy	National Institute of Ocean Technology, Chennai.	
Dr. Purvaja Ramachandran	Anna University, Chennai.	